Matawan Aberdeen School District Names 'Teacher of the Year' For Each School

A district-wide Teacher of the Year will be selected in February.

The following is from the Matawan Regional School District: 

Matawan-Aberdeen Regional Schools Superintendent David Healy and the Board of Educationare proud to announce this year’s school Teachers of the Year.

The district is participating for the first time in the New Jersey Department of Education program, which highlights “educational innovation, student learning, and the rewards of teaching” (NJDOE).

Information from nominations submitted by families and staff was collated into a rubric using state guidelines, and the staff member with the top score became the school-level winner. These outstanding professionals will be recognized in building and district events, and will submit applications for the district Teacher of the Year (February). That individual will be eligible for County Teacherof the Year (April). The county will also have a luncheon for all school Teachers of the Year.

Congratulations to our 2013-2014 winners:

  • Matawan Regional: Neil Jackman, math department
  • MAMS: Kristine Nilsen, seventh grade language arts 
  • Lloyd Road: Susan Kyvelos, fifth grade
  • Cliffwood: Tara Aprilante, art, computers
  • Ravine: Paula Murray, second grade
  • Strathmore: Diane Yorks, first grade
  • Cambridge Park: Sandra Rocco, pre-k special education


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »