Council President, Attorney & Board Member Appointments Made at Matawan's 2013 Reorganization

A number of appointments were made Jan. 1.

Mayor Paul Buccellato and the Matawan Borough Council made several appointments, including council president, borough attorney and members of committees and boards at their annual reorganization meeting on Monday, Jan. 1. 

The following borough council committees were established:

  • Finance, Education & Environmental Committee: Chairperson Thomas Fitzsimmons, Toni Angelini, Donna Gould
  • Personnel, Planning & Development: Chairperson Donna Gould, Linda Clifton, Toni Angelini
  • Property Maintenance, Technology & Sanitation: Chairperson Kimberly Daly, Donna Gould, Thomas Fitzsimmons
  • Public Safety, Railroad Parking & ADA: Chairperson Joseph Urbano, Linda Clifton, Toni Angelini
  • Public Works, Planning/Zoning & Shade Tree: Chairperson Toni Angelini, Joseph Urbano, Kimberly Daly
  • Recreation, Historic Sites & Library: Chairperson Linda Clifton, Joseph Urbano, Thomas Fitzsimmons

The following people were appointed to the Environmental Commission:

  • Member, three-year term: James Tobias
  • Member, three-year term: Sharon LaPorta
  • Member, three-year term: Deanna Edwards
  • Council Advisor, one-year term: Thomas Fitzsimmons

The following people were appointed to the Unified Planning/Zoning Board:

  • Class II Member, one-year term: Robert Montfort
  • Class III Member, one-year term: Councilwoman Thomas Fitzsimmons
  • Class IV Member, four-year term: Angelo Gallego, Jr.
  • Class IV Member, four-year term: John McKenna
  • Alternative II Member, one-year term: Andrew Lopez
  • Alternative IV Member, two-year term: Daniel Acquaferedda

The following person was apopointed to the Shade Tree Commission:

  • Member, five-year term: Larry Magee

The following people were appointed to the Disability Accessibility Commission:

  • Public Works Representative, one-year term: DPW Director John Applegate
  • Construction Department Representative, one-year term: Construction Official John Quinn
  • Representative-at-Large, three-year term: Rosemary Conte
  • Governing Body Representative, one-year term: Councilwoman Donna Gould
  • Governing Body Representative, one-year term: Councilman Joseph Urbano

The following people were appointed to the Historic Sites Commission:

  • Member, three-year term: Robert Montfort
  • Member, three-year term: Terri McKenna

The following people were appointed to the Library Board:

  • Mayor's Representative, one-year term: Mayor Paul Buccellato
  • Representative, five-year term: Jerry D'Auria

The following people were appointed to the Recreation Commission:

  • Director of Public Recreation: Deirdre Ring
  • Delegate, five-year term: Sue Banner
  • Delegate, five-year term: Ruth Grant

The following peopler were appointed to the Safety Committee:

  • Public Works/Water/Sewer Representative, one-year term: Jake Applegate
  • Board of Health Representative, one-year term: Larry Kasica
  • Public Safety Committee Commissioner's Representative, one-year term: Councilman Joseph Urbano
  • Member-at-Large Representative, one-year term: Deirdre Ring

The following appointments were affirmed:

  • Council President: Donna Gould
  • Borough Attorney: Pasquale Menna of The Menna Law Firm
  • Borough Bond Attorney: John Draikiwicz of Gibbons, PC
  • Borough Labor Attorney: Matthew Giacobbe of Cleary Giacobbe Alfieri Jacobs, LLC
  • First Deputy Coordinator (Operations/Planning): Fire Cpt. Richard Michitsch 
  • Second Deputy Coordinator (Resources/Logistics): Ex-Fire Chief Timothy Clifton
  • Emergency Management Secretary: Tammy Michitsch 
  • Deputy Borough Clerk: Karen Wynne
  • ADA Coordinator: Joseph Urbano
  • Property Maintenance Officer: Robert Biddle 
  • Assessment Search Officer: Jean Montfort
  • Tax Search Officer: Peggy Warren
  • HIPPA Privacy & Contact Person: Grace Rainforth
  • Deputy Registrar of Vital Statistics: Grace Rainforth
  • Personnel Administrator: Jean Montfort
  • Local Historian: Julius Kish
  • COAH Municipal Liaison: Mayor Paul Buccellato
  • Fund Commissioner to the Monmouth County Municipal Joint Insurance Fund and Central Jersey Health Insurance Fund: Mayor Paul Buccellato
  • Municipal Cross-Acceptance Representative: Mayor Paul Buccellato
  • Community Development Representative: Mayor Paul Buccellato
  • Stormwater Program Coordinator: Robert Keady 
  • Municipal Representatives to Monmouth County Area 12 Watershed Sub-District (Navesink and Bayshore): Councilman Thomas Fitzsimmons
  • Police Matrons: Meghan Walker, Denise Triolo
Gus January 04, 2013 at 02:32 PM
Other than being facetious and assuming it is nothing more than a political ploy, is it a coincidence, or is there a legitimate reason the mayor appoints a council-person that is up for re-election to the position of council president every year?
Rolo Tomassi January 15, 2013 at 03:25 PM
Seems like no legitimate reason to appoint her to Council President. I guess that Clifton will run on her family name and that Gould needs the support of being Council President (look what it did for Andy Lopez). Paul likes to nominate himself quite a bit as well. I guess the less people that know; the more that can be concealed.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »